I Am a Child of God

“I am a child of God, and He has sent me here, has given me an earthly home, with parents kind and dear.  Lead me, guide me, walk beside me.  Help me find the way.  Teach me all that I must do to live with Him some day.”

Naomi W. Randall, I Am a Child of God

This is the first verse to one of the simplest and powerful songs I know.  How valuable to know that “I am a child of God.”  As I look around me I see so much confusion and anger.  While there are many sources for these emotions, I believe the prime source is that people have forgotten that they are children of God.

Knowing that I am a child of God helps me to see others as children of God.  It allows me to look for the good in others.  It also helps motivate me to do good.

When we lived in Colorado, we were invited to a family retreat at Christhaven Lodge.  It wasn’t long after arriving that I felt the Spirit of God.  I had found a place where my family was loved.  I had found a place where people could worship God together…in their own way. That first visit was the beginning of the opening of my eyes that we all are children of God…part of the same family.  We may worship in different chapels, we may call our Heavenly Father different names, we may pray using different words.  But we are still all part of the same family of God!

So often, we tend to group ourselves with people who think, act, or believe the same.  That isn’t always bad, but it limits our world.  Sometimes it’s good to reach beyond our circle of comfort and discover the rest of the world. Before you reach beyond your circle of comfort, however, I believe you must be firm in what you believe. You must allow the Spirit to guide you as you reach out.

I have a firm belief in God. I have no desire to change churches.  At the same time, I love to talk with people from other denominations.  Last night I took the youth from our church to another church’s Christmas presentation, The Bethlehem Journey.  I think there were some in my congregation who questioned taking the youth to another church. The presentation we saw was doctrinally correct.  There was nothing said or done that contradicted anything within our dogma.

For me, reaching beyond my circle of comfort isn’t something I do to question my beliefs, it is something I do to share my beliefs.  How can you preach the gospel if everyone you know and associate with already believes the same as you?  How can you teach anyone anything if everyone already believes what you know?

As we each wander through this field of life, we must hold firmly to the iron rod.  At the same time, we reach out to those we pass by and invite them to join us on the path because we are all children of the same God.

Knowing that I am a child of God, helps me to feel the love of God. In an address to the women of the Church, President Thomas S. Monson said:

Heavenly Father loves you—each of you. That love never changes. It is not influenced by your appearance, by your possessions, or by the amount of money you have in your bank account. It is not changed by your talents and abilities. It is simply there. It is there for you when you are sad or happy, discouraged or hopeful. God’s love is there for you whether or not you feel you deserve love. It is simply always there.

I know that I am a child of God.  Because I know this, I know:

  • God loves you & me
  • God wants good things for you & me
  • You & I have potential

See also:

Deuteronomy 14:1 – “Ye are the children of the Lord your God”

Galatians 3:26 – “For ye are all the children of God by faith in Christ Jesus.”

Romans 8:14 – “For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, they are the sons of God.”

 

One thought on “I Am a Child of God

  1. […] We all face real setbacks and challenges in this life.  When these happen, what is our immediate response?  Do we doubt our faith and blame others…or do we remember who we are…children of God? Unfortunately, the world has so many distractions that cause to first to treat casually, then ignore, and then forget our connection with God.  Do I know who I am?  Do I know that I am a Child of God? […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

