This I know…

Sometimes we need to set aside doctrine and share pure emotion.  We need to stop talking about principles and start talking about feelings.  There are many things I believe.  There are also many things I know.  You might ask how I know these things–it is difficult to describe why I know.  I simply know them. Today, I need to share some of the things I know.  Today, I need my children to know what their father knows.

I know I love my wife and that she loves me.

I know I love my children and that they love me.

I know I love my parents and sisters and that they love me.

I know I have friends whom I love and that love me. 

How do I know this? Besides hearing the words “I love you” I know it’s true because of the way they treat me.  I know it’s true because of the desire I have to do good things for them. I know it’s true because there are times when I sincerely want to remove their obstacles, their trials, and their burdens.  I’m even willing to take these things upon myself–to suffer for them.  I can’t always do that, there are some trials that must be borne individually…it doesn’t change my desire.

I know this world was created by a God who wants good things for all of mankind.  Circumstances aren’t always ideal in which people live, but that doesn’t change who God is.

I know Peter, James, and John were called of God to serve in the kingdom as Apostles of the Lord Jesus Christ. They gave their lives for what they knew to be true.

I know that Joseph Smith was a prophet–called of God to restore the Church of Jesus Christ in its fulness to the Earth. 

I know we have a prophet today called of God: Thomas S. Monson.

I know the scriptures (The Holy Bible & The Book of Mormon) are true. They testify of the principles of the Gospel. We can learn the way back to our Heavenly Father by studying and pondering the Word of God.

How do I know these things?  Because of the feeling in my heart and in my mind.  I know because of the peace I feel and see in my life when I do the things I’ve been taught to do. There are some who say they can’t believe until they see.  To you, I ask why you believe a little child will ever love you when they can’t speak or do loving actions? To you, I ask why you believe the earth is spinning in an orbit around a burning ball of gas when you can’t see this sphere we live on?  To you I ask, why do you leave your home and know you’ll be able to breathe when you can’t see the Oxygen on which you depend for life?

Not everything in this life requires a physical witness before we believe or before we know.

The things I know lead me to take specific actions.  The things I know have built me into the man I am.  And so, without apology, I declare to my children, my family, and to all the most important thing I know:

I know that Jesus Christ is the Son of God…the Messiah…the Savior of all mankind.

 He is the way, the truth, and the life.

No one can be with the Father except by Christ.

Come and find out for yourself if these words I’ve shared are true.  Seek Him out.

Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you.
(Luke 11:9).

I know who I am…do you?

IMG_3667.JPG
My son at the feet of The Christus
One thought on “This I know…

Leave a Reply

