To Be a Man

I recently read a talk by President Russell M. Nelson that has caused me to think a lot about the kind of man I am and the kind of man I want to become.  You can read a million different articles about the qualities of “real men.”  Here are some thoughts I’ve had on the subject based on what I read by President Nelson (along with thoughts of my own).

Real man:

Developing Priesthood Power requires a man to pay the requisite price by diligently seeking to be taught by the Lord Himself. A man who has paid the price will be able to bring miracles to those he loves and keep his marriage and family safe, now and throughout eternity. In fact, President Nelson uses an interesting phrase…”In the coming day…” Here is the entire passage:

“In a coming day, only those men who have taken their priesthood seriously, by diligently seeking to be taught by the Lord Himself, will be able to bless, guide, protect, strengthen, and help others. Only a man who has paid the price for priesthood power will be able to bring miracles to those he loves and keep his marriage and family safe, now and throughout eternity.”

Of all the things I heard and read in General Conference, April 2016, this is the most prophetic sounding…there’s something about these words that stir a feeling of action within me.  

So what is the price to be paid? It is to live these qualities: faith, virtue, knowledge, temperance, patience, holiness, brotherly kindness, charity, diligence, humility.  It is also to pray from our hearts–even if that means having the courage to pray to know how to pray.  It is to earnestly study the scriptures and feast on the words of Christ.  It is to worship in the Temple regularly and ask Him to teach us about priesthood keys, authority, and power.

In the end, there is very little that’s new in this talk–we’ve heard all these things before.  But for me, today, there is something powerful about hearing an Apostle give me direction on how I can protect my family…on how I can be a better man.

The question is this:

have I spent my days working on my birthright…

or eating a mess of pottage?
Leave a Reply

