Fighting the Good Fight

As I sat with my children tonight and watched Peter charge toward the White Witch in the Chronicles of Narnia, I was once again reminded of the importance of fighting the good fight. The Sons of Adam were vastly outnumbered, yet they went bravely into battle knowing that they were fighting for the principles taught by Aslan–they were fighting the good fight. And then comes the wonderful finale when Aslan comes to the battle…back from the dead…and defeats the White Witch.

savior-soft_edges.png

There are so many parallels between this great story by C. S. Lewis and our own dear Savior, Jesus Christ. I always end up in tears when I watch this movie as I ponder the role of the Savior in my life.  How he offered Himself as a sacrifice in my place–and how he continues to fight my battles standing beside me.

What a wonderful Plan of Salvation that enables us to live knowing God loves us and wants good things for us.  All we have to do is accept Jesus Christ as our Savior and obey His commandments and he has promised us Eternal Life!

 

Leave a Reply

